Cardinals’ Nolan Arenado wins 10th Gold Glove Award

Cardinals’ Nolan Arenado wins 10th Gold Glove Award

PHILADELPHIA — St. Louis Cardinals third seed Nolan Arenado became the fourth infielder to win 10 consecutive Rawlings Gold Gloves when baseball’s winners of the sport’s most prestigious fielding awards were announced Tuesday on ESPN2 before Game 3 of the World Series.

Arenado, 31, has won the National League Gold Glove at third base in each of his 10 seasons in the major leagues. That streak connects exes Seattle Mariners outfielder Ichiro Suzuki longest tenured player at any position to start career.

The only infielders with longer streaks were Hall of Famers Brooks Robinson (third base, 16 straight Gold Gloves) and Ozzie Smith (shortstop, 13 straight) and former Cardinals and New York Mets top seed Keith Hernandez (11 straight).

The Golden Gloves used to favor repeat winners, but this year’s list of honorees marked a season of unprecedented change. A record 14 players won their first Gold Gloves, including all but one winner in the American League.

AL’s first timers were Cleveland Guardians pitcher Shane Bieber, New York Yankees catcher Jose Trevino, Toronto Blue Jays first seed Vladimir Guerrero Jr.., Guardians second player Andres Gimenez, Baltimore Orioles third seed Ramon Urias, Houston Astros shortstop Jeremy PenaGuardians left field Steven KwanGuardians Center Myles Straw and Astros right fielder Kyle Tucker.

The only repeat AL winners were the Yankees DJ LeMahieuwho is recognized as a useful player.

There was a bit more familiarity among those who joined Arenado as the Gold Glovers on the National League side. The first winners are also included Arizona Diamondbacks first seed Christian Walker, Colorado Rockies second carrier Brendan RodgersBraves shortstop Dansby Swanson, Chicago Cubs left fielder Ian Happ and Cardinals utility player Brendan Donovan.

Philadelphia Phillies catcher JT Realmuto won his second Glove, joining Houston’s Penny and Tucker in learning their honor during the previous World Series contest.

“It’s a pretty cool moment, for sure,” Pena said. “[Getting] congratulated by our teammates. We know the focus is on the game, so we’ll enjoy this a bit and then get ready for the game.”

Pena joined Kwan and Donovan as winners during their rookie seasons, another record. The only other time there were even two rookie Gold Glovers was in 2020 (louis robert and Evan White).

Taking that honor, Pena continued to prove himself as a worthy successor at the position in Houston Carlos Correa, who won the award last season. Pena became the first rookie to win a Gold Glove.

“I heard it today and I was in shock because I didn’t know it was a thing,” Pena said. “But it’s pretty cool.”

San Diego Padres center field Trent Grisham won for the second time, while Los Angeles Dodgers star right field Mookie Betts won his sixth Gold Glove. Atlanta Braves pitcher Max Fried awarded for the third time.

#Cardinals #Nolan #Arenado #wins #10th #Gold #Glove #Award

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button