Joe Thomas and Darrelle Revis lead 129 Hall of Fame nominees

Joe Thomas and Darrelle Revis lead 129 Hall of Fame nominees

The former Jets cornerback and former Browns offensive tackle top a list that highlights nine players in their first year of eligibility

Six-time offensive lineman All-Pro, Joe Thomas; corner lock, Darelle Revisand the quick quarterback chaser, Dwight Freeney; tops the list of nine players in their first year of eligibility selected from the 129 nominees for Professional Football Hall of Fame for the Class of 2023.

The other applicants in the first year of eligibility are the broker Chris Johnsonoffensive lineman Jahri Evanslinebackers Navorro Archer there James Harrisondefensive back Chancellor of Kamand bettor Shane Lechler.

The nine new candidates gathered for 52 invitations to the Pro-Bowl and 30 first-team caps All prowith five of these nine winners Super Bowls and five of them being chosen for an Ideal Team of the Decade. Johnson also won an award Offensive Player of the Year in 2009, and Harrisson was chosen as Defensive Player of the Year In 2008.

Thomas was one of the best tackles in the league throughout a long 11-year career which saw him selected for the first team All pro six times, and to the second team twice. He had a streak of 10,363 consecutive snaps playing for the Browns his whole journey.

Revisionwhich was also selected in the Draft 2007 of NFLmoved around a lot more, spent time with the New York Jets, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, New England Patriots and Kansas City Chiefs.

His best level came New Yorkwhere was a All pro first-team player from 2009 to 2011, and finished second in the vote for Defensive Player of the Year in 2009, when he repeatedly shut down the league’s top wide receivers, banishing them to “Revis Island”.

Revision spent a campaign in New Englandhelping the patriots to conquer the superbowl of the 2014 campaign.

Freeney spent most of his 16-year career with the Indianapolis Colts, where his top speed and dominant spinning maneuver led to 125.5 career sacks. He anchored a defense that complemented a high-octane offense led by Peyton Manning and helped the Foals win the superbowl in the 2006 campaign.

The list will be reduced to 25 semi-finalists in November and 15 finalists in January, before the selection committee discusses and chooses the members of the Class of 2023 who will be honored in August.

The 15 finalists will be narrowed down to 10, and then to five, when the selection committee meets early next year. The last five candidates must obtain 80% of the votes of the jury to be accepted in the Hall of fame.

The list of nominees consists of 67 offensive players, 50 defensive players and 12 special teams players.

2022 finalists renamed for next year include defensive end Jared Allen; offensive tackle Willie Anderson; defensive back round barber; returns specialist Devin Hester; wide receivers Torry Holt, Andre Johnson there Reggie Wayne; linebackers Zach Thomas there Patrick Willis; and quarterback chaser By Marcus Ware.

The committee will also consider the former head coach of San Diego Chargers there Cardinals of St. Louis, Don Coryellin the category of coaches, and three senior candidates: the Super Bowl V MVP, Chuck Howleyand the defensive All pro, Joe Klecko there And Riley. They will be honored if they win the support of at least 80% of voters in January.

#Joe #Thomas #Darrelle #Revis #lead #Hall #Fame #nominees

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top