No Grand Slam winner among eight quarter-finalists

No Grand Slam winner among eight quarter-finalists

All eight US Open male quarter-finalists have one thing in common: none of them have ever won a Grand Slam tournament. For the third consecutive edition, the winner of Flushing Meadows will join the list of players with a “fat” on his CV as a rookie. In 2020 the Austrian Dominic Thiem did it and in 2022 the Russian Daniil Medvedev.

Thiem hasn’t won another tournament since, after a serious wrist injury, and Medvedev only one, the ATP 250 in Los Cabos (Mexico) last August.

Among the eight quarter-finalists, The one with the best ranking is the Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz, who arrived at the tournament fourth in the world and is now practically second. And with options to be number one. He is also the youngest, at 19, followed by his quarter-final rival, The Italian Jannik Sinner, who is 21 years old.

The oldest is Australian Nick Kyrgios, 27. The Russian Andrey Rublev is, of all, the one who has won the most titles, eleven. But Alcaraz is nevertheless the one who signed the most tournaments this year, four: Rio, Miami, Barcelona and Madrid.

#Grand #Slam #winner #among #quarterfinalists

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top