points and positions (drivers and teams)

points and positions (drivers and teams)

Load audio player

Who leads the F1 driver standings in 2022?

the defending champion Verstappen put 16 more points on title rival Charles Leclerc after his comeback and fastest lap in Spa with an unstoppable Red Bull Racing and, despite starting mid-grid due to a penalty, he dealt another blow to the championship. With eight races remaining, the difference between Verstappen and top Ferrari is 96 points.

In fact, Sergio Pérez’s second-place finish in the fourth double of Red Bull in 2022 (at the Belgian GP), and Charles Leclerc’s fifth place, dropped the Monegasque to third place in the world championship.


Here’s how the 2022 F1 championship has evolved race by race

After the Bahrain GP which opened the 2022 Formula 1 season, Leclercthe first winner of the year, then took the lead in the championship and, his second place after Verstappen in the Saudi Arabian GP, ​​he kept it on top of the championship. Moreover, he repeated the victory at the Australian GP, ​​and the abandonment of his two main rivals allowed him to escape.

The first sprint race of the year, the Imola, helped Max Verstappen close the gap, but only the point that separated the winner from second place. Then, Leclerc failed at the GP of Emilia-Romagnabut he limited the damage with sixth place and had such cushion that he continued to be very much in the lead.

However, another Verstappen victory in Miami tightened the drivers’ championship, and Leclerc’s engine knockout in Barcelona, ​​while in the lead, added to the champion’s victory thanks to the team orders of Red Bull with Sergio Pérez, caused the change of leader, who remained in the GP of Monaco after a race with changing conditions which had to end due to a time limit, with the victory of the Mexican pilot, in front Sainz, Verstappen and Leclerc.

Leclerc was on his way to salvage points in Azerbaijan, where he took pole and led the race until another Ferrari engine failure caused him to retire and drain. The knockout came after Sainz also due to his reliability, and without the red cars Red Bull had no problem adding another one-two that made Verstappen more leading and put Checo Pérez second.

But an accident by the Mexican in qualifying and a retirement in the race due to reliability made him leave Canada with a 0, which combined with the rise of Leclerc (from 19th to 5th) allowed the Monegasque to stay close second place in the world championship. Verstappen, with his victory in Montreal, increased his lead.

When the championship came to the British GP, Verstappen suffered a car problem at the front of the race, eventually having to minimize the damage and settle for 7th place. Leclerc couldn’t get on the podium to cut many points but Pérez, with second place, shortened the distances further.

In the Austrian sprint race, where the highest number of points was 8, Verstappen took the biggest spoils, but Leclerc only managed to drop a single point (he was second) and leave things to almost the same. However, the leader suffered more degradation and could not beat the Ferraris, although Sainz’s withdrawal only allowed Leclerc to cut 6 points, although he was able to finish second in the world championship .

But in France another setback came for the Monegasque, who suffered an accident while leading the race and battling to win, losing at least 18 points. Verstappen picked up the knockout to add another victory and give a big blow to the championship.

In Hungary, it looked like Ferrari would claw back some ground after Verstappen’s poor qualifying, but the Dutchman won and escaped almost permanently. In fact, the Ferraris didn’t even make it to the podium…

To make matters worse, the Dutchman opted to penalize at Spa when he saw Ferrari doing the same with Leclerc, but despite starting mid-grid he crushed everyone to win and add another 26 points (win and fastest lap) and further condemn the championship.

What championships are there in the Formula 1 World Championship? What titles can you win?

In the Formula 1 world championship, you can officially win two championships, that is, win two titles.

Although builders and teams will say it’s not so clear cut, it’s obvious thatpilot titlethe Drivers’ World Championship, is the most important in Formula 1. It is won by the driver with the most points at the end of the season, and it adds up all the points from all the races (unlike in the past, where they only a number of best results were taken into account).

The other world cup is that of the teams, F1 constructors title, which is achieved by the team that scores the most points between its two drivers. As in the individual championship, in the team championship all results count.

Since 2021, there has been an unofficial title, that of overtaking champion, awarded to the driver who makes the most overtaking throughout the world championship. The first and so far only champion of this almost symbolic award was Vettel, who beat Alonso there Raikkonen.

How is the distribution of points in Formula 1: scoring system

  • 1st place (winner) 25 points
  • 2nd place 18 points
  • 3rd place 15 points
  • 4th place 12 points
  • 5th place 10 points
  • 6th classified 8 points
  • 7th classified 6 points
  • 8th place 4 points
  • 9th place 2 points
  • 10th ranked 1 points
  • Quick turn: 1 point (provided the fastest lap is achieved by a driver who finishes in the top 10 of the race)
  • Sprint races**: 8 points to the winner, 7 points to the second, 6 points to the third, 5 points to the fourth, 4 points to the fifth, 3 points to the sixth, 2 points to the seventh and 1 point to the eighth.

Who is the current Formula 1 world champion?

The current champion, the driver who defends the title in F1 2022, is Max Verstappen, who won a stunning finish at the 2021 Abu Dhabi GP to win his first world championship to date. However, his Red Bull team couldn’t stop Mercedes, who are the team defending the constructors’ title after winning it eight years in a row since 2014.

How many champions are there on the Formula 1 grid in 2022?

On the current F1 grid, there are four world champions. In addition to Verstappen, Lewis Hamilton has seven world championships (a record shared with Michael Schumacher), Sebastian Vettel has been champion four times (2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013) and Fernando Alonso, two (in 2005 and 2006).

Curiously, there are now four champions and in 2021 there were also: there was Kimi Raikkonen (2007 champion) but Verstappen was still not.

And here’s how the 2022 MotoGP Riders and Teams Championship unfolds:

#points #positions #drivers #teams

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top